Fridays & Saturdays thru August

Movies at Founders Park

Head downtown Park to catch recent favorite movies and classics weekends at Founders Park.

The Springfield-Greene County Park Board’s annual Movies at Founders Park series begins at dusk Friday, July 8, bringing recent release and classic movies to a family-friendly outdoor setting in downtown Springfield’s Founders Park, 330 E. Water St., at Jefferson Avenue. The series continues every Friday and Saturday night through August 27.

The eight-week movie series is a contemporary version of a drive-in theater. Audiences are encouraged to bring lawn chairs and blankets and enjoy an evening under the stars. Friday is Family Night, Saturday is Date Night. All movies are rated G, PG or PG-13. Feature films begin at dusk.

The series includes a special “drive-in” movie screening of “The Little Rascals” during the Birthplace of Route 66 Festival Friday, Aug. 12, at the Springfield Expo Center East Field, across from Mediacom Ice Park.

The season’s complete movie lineup is available at ParkBoard.org/movies.
Titles include:

Fri., July 8 Minions, PG
Sat., July 9 Sixteen Candles, PG
Fri., July 15 Aladdin, G
Sat., July 16 Cool Runnings, PG
Fri., July 22 Heavyweights, PG
Sat., July 23 Grease, PG
Fri., July 29 Up, PG
Sat., July 30 Top Gun, PG
Fri., Aug. 5 Inside Out, PG
Sat., Aug. 6 Jurassic World, PG-13
Fri., Aug. 12 The Little Rascals, PG — Special “Drive-In” screening at the Expo Center East Field, part of the Birthplace of Route 66 Festival
Sat., Aug. 13 Rocky, PG
Fri., Aug. 19 Zootopia, PG
Sat., Aug. 20 The Intern, PG-13
Fri., Aug. 26 Star Wars: The Force Awakens, PG-13
Sat., Aug. 27 Meet the Parents, PG-13

Concessions are available for purchase. No tobacco, alcohol or pets allowed.

Admission to Movies at Founders Park is free with advance family 4-pack tickets, or $5 at the gate. Individual movie tickets are available the Monday before each film screening at the following locations:

Chesterfield Family Center, 2511 W. Republic Road
Doling Family Center, 301 E. Talmage St.
Dan Kinney Family Center, 2701 S. Blackman Road
Mediacom Ice Park, 635 E. Trafficway
Busch Municipal Building, 840 Boonville Ave.
Mediacom Communications, 1533 S. Enterprise Ave.

The Park Board partners again this summer with SATO48 to highlight several short films produced by local filmmakers in the 2016 SATO48 film challenge. SATO films will be screened prior to the feature films on Saturday nights.

For more information, visit ParkBoard.org/movies or call Mediacom Ice Park at 417-866-7444, or the Springfield-Greene County Park Board office at 417-864-1049.