Downtown Springfield Association
From the New World

From the New World

October, 19 2019 | 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

525 S. John Q. Hammons Parkway Springfield, MO 65802

$10 - $40 with discounts available for students and seniors

While living in New York City, Czech composer Antonin Dvorak became interested in Native American music and African-American spirituals.  His Symphony No. 9 From the New World, is a thrilling and poignant thesis of American folk and indigenous melodies woven into the traditional Western symphonic structure and is one of the most popular masterworks in the orchestral repertoire.  We will introduce our audience to Joan Tower’s Grammy-Award winning composition Made in America, which weaves America the Beautiful into an intriguing and haunting tone poem.  And in a nod to the “old world,” we will hear Beethoven’s delightful and charming Violin Concerto, performed by our very own Concertmaster David Hays.

This concert is brought to you by Reliable Superstore and Mediacom.