Downtown Springfield Association
Springfield Symphony Orchestra: What Is My Fate?

Springfield Symphony Orchestra: What Is My Fate?

November, 10 2018 | 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

525 S John Q. Hammons Pkwy Springfield, MO 65806


Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, The Pathetique, has been interpreted variously as a suicide note, a requiem for a friend, and a meditation on life and fate. The title suggests emotion tinged with suffering, the Russian Orthodox requiem makes a brief but conspicuous appearance in the first movement, and the final movement, unlike many of the composer’s other works which end in pomp and celebration, ends in somber softness, suggesting the final dimming of the light and life-force. It is moving, powerful, and heart-breaking. We also welcome former Hellam Young Artists’ Competition winners Brian Hong and Alexander Hersh back to the stage to join us for Brahms’s beautiful Double Concerto for Violin and Cello.

Pre-concert Talk – 6:30 PM
Pre-concert music – 7:00 PM
Performance – 7:30 PM

Tickets are on sale now!.
Single Tickets range from $10 – $40 with discounts available for students* and seniors**. To purchase single tickets, call the Juanita K. Hammons Hall Box Office at (417) 836-7678 or go online to or

Hammons Hall Box Office Hours: 10 am to 5 pm | Monday – Friday

Single ticket orders are subject to additional fee charges from Hammons Hall

*Must have a valid student ID
**Senior rates are for adults age 60 and older

This concert is brought to you by Reliable Superstore, Judith A. Hellam, Independent Printing, Positronic IndustriesKOLR10 & Ozarks Local NewsKSMU – Ozarks Public Radio, and Pioneer Outdoor, LLC.

For more information, visit or call the Symphony office at 417-864-6683.